Australian Currency / What is the Currency of Australia?

Australia’s official currency is the Australian dollar.

The Australian dollar (currency code AUD) is Australian currency since 1966. It is also the currency of Christmas Island, Cocos Islands, Norfolk Island and independent Pacific Island countries Kiribati, Nauru and Tuvalu. It is usually abbreviated with a dollar sign ($). Furthermore, alternative uses of Australian dollars to distinguish from other dollar currencies are A $ or $ A, $ AU, or AU $.

Australian dollars are the most traded currencies in the world after American dollars, Euros, British sterling, Japanese yen and Canadian dollars. Represents 4-5% of foreign exchange transactions.

Coins and Banknotes

Coins: $2, $1, 50 cent, 20 cent, 10 cent and 5 cent

Banknotes: $100, $50, $20, $10 ve $5

 Australian Dollar Converter