Countries of the United Kingdom

Countries of the United Kingdom. In this content you can find a map of the countries in the United Kingdom. There are a total of four countries in the United Kingdom. These countries are Scotland, North Ireland, Wales and England.

Countries of the United Kingdom

In the United Kingdom, a unitary sovereign state; Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland acquired a form of autonomy within a process. Although the UK Parliament and the Government of the United Kingdom maintain the governance of the countries within the scope of the specified issues, most of their internal affairs are governed by the Northern Ireland Parliament, the Scottish Parliament and the National Assembly of Wales.

Furthermore, England is the largest and most populous country in the UK, and the administration is fully under the responsibility of the UK Parliament in London.


The capitals and population of the countries linked to the United Kingdom are as follows:


The population is 54,786,300, and the capital is London. The largest and most central of the four countries that make up the United Kingdom. It is located in the western part of Europe, on the Great Britain. The people of England are called the English.

Northern Ireland

Its population is 1,851,600, and the capital city is Belfast. The most important lakes of the country are Lough Neagh, the largest freshwater source in the British Isles, with an area of 392 km², and the other important lake is Lough Erne in the Fermanagh Count. Furthermore, the largest island in Northern Ireland is the island of Rathlin on the coast of Antrim. Moreover, the Sperrin Mountains is a region where the country’s gold needs are met. Granite is also found around the Mourne Mountains. The highest point of the country is Slieve Donard, 848 meters above the Mourne Mountains.


Its population is 5,373,000, and the capital is Edinburgh. It is the second UK country with the most population after England. Scotland is the northernmost island of the British Isle, covering an area of 77,900 square kilometers and approximately 32,3 percent of the total surface area of the United Kingdom. To the south of the UK neighboring country is the North Sea to the east and the Atlantic Ocean to the west.


Its population is 3,099,100, and the capital city is Cardiff. Wales is on the west side of the British Isle. Moreover, it has an area of 20,779 km². It has a coastline of 230 miles.