Estonian Currency / What is the Currency of Estonia?

Estonia’s currency is the Euro.

Estonia, which is a member of the European Union in 2004, has been using the Euro since 2011. The mark of the euro is € and the code is EUR. The currency of the country before 2011 was Estonian Kroon.

The sign of the Estonian kroon is the kr and the international code is EEK. The Estonian kroon was the currency of Estonia between 1928-1940 and 1992-2011. Between January 1 and January 14, 2011, Estonia used kroon together with the euro, later Euro became Estonian’s legal currency. The kroon means “crown” in Estonian. Estonia began to use Soviet rubles after joining to the Soviet Union in 1940. Having gained independence after the collapse of the Soviets, Estonia began using the kroon currency again in 1992. From 1992, the use of the kroon currency continued until 2011, when the euro began to use.

From 2011, Estonia began using the Euro. In 2002, the euro was the currency of choice in Germany, France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Ireland, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Greece, Finland, and Austria. The euro is the common and monolithic part of the European Monetary Union, the last stage of the Common Market system that European countries have established to raise the welfare level.

Coins and Banknotes


Coins: 1 cent, 2 cent, 5 cent, 10 cent, 20 cent, 50 cent, €1 and €2

Banknotes: €5, €10, €20, €50, €100, €200 and €500

 Euro Converter