French Currency / What is the Currency of France?

The currency of France is the Euro.

France has been using the euro since 2002. The mark of the euro is € and the code is EUR. The currency of the country before 2002 was French franc.

The French franc is the old currency used in France. It is indicated by the French letter F or the letter F. The use of France in 2002 with the euro as the currency has come to an end. The French franc was also used outside of France in Andorra, Monaco and French Polynesia. In the Eurozone transition phase, conversion from 1 Euro to 6.55957 French franc cross exchange rate was provided. 1 Frank is 100 centimeters. The French franc was also used as reserve currency in the world. The reserve was in the fifth place after the US dollar, the German mark, the British sterling, and the Japanese yen.

From 1 January 2002, France began using the Euro. In 2002, the euro was the currency of choice in Germany, France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Ireland, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Greece, Finland, and Austria. The euro is the common and monolithic part of the European Monetary Union, the last stage of the Common Market system that European countries have established to grow the welfare level.

Coins and Banknotes


Coins: 1 cent, 2 cent, 5 cent, 10 cent, 20 cent, 50 cent, €1 and €2

Banknotes: €5, €10, €20, €50, €100, €200 and €500