Italian Currency / What is the Currency of Italy?

Italy’s currency is the Euro.

Italy has been using the euro since 2002. The mark of the euro is € and the code is EUR. The currency of the country before 2002 is Italian Lira.

The Italian lira is the currency used in Italy from 1861 until 2002. The Italian lira was used outside of Italy in San Marino and part of the Vatican. With passing Euro as the official currency of Italy, the Italian lira of 1936,27 started to change as 1 euro. The lira was the currency of the Albanian kingdom between 1941-1943. Between 1999 and 2002, the Italian lira was officially a national sub-unit of the euro. However, cash payments were made in lira since the euro money was not available yet. Lira was the currency of the Napoleonic Kingdom of Italy between 1807 and 1814 at the same time.

From 1 January 2002, Italy began using the Euro. In 2002, Germany, France, Belgium, Holland, Luxembourg, Ireland, Spain, Portugal, Spain, Greece, Finland, Austria started to use the Euro currency. It is the common and monolithic part of the European Monetary Union, the last stage of the Common Market system that European countries have established to raise the level of prosperity.

Coins and Banknotes

Coins: 1 cent, 2 cent, 5 cent, 10 cent, 20 cent, 50 cent, €1 and €2

Banknotes: €5, €10, €20, €50, €100, €200 and €500

 Euro Converter