Lithuanian Currency / What is the Currency of Lithuania?

The currency of Lithuania is the Euro.

The country has recently passed the euro. Prior to the Euro, Lithuania was using litas currency. The mark of the euro is € and the code is EUR.

Lita was first uncovered in 1922 during World War I. Lita was fixed in US dollars from 1994 until 2002. However, after 2002, the euro was stabilized. In this context, 1 Euro, 3.45 Litas. The annual inflation rate in Lithuania was 3.6% in 2006. On 1 January 2010 it is planned to switch from Lita currency to the Euro in Lithuania; but due to economic difficulties, this transition has been postponed to 1 January 2014. Lithuania, which won its independence in 1990 and entered the EU in 2004, is the 19th country to use Euro.

Coins and Banknotes


Coins: 1 cent, 2 cent, 5 cent, 10 cent, 20 cent, 50 cent, €1 and €2

Banknotes: €5, €10, €20, €50, €100, €200 and €500