Provinces of Finland

On 6 December 1917, Finland left Russia and proclaimed its independence. Long before a century ago, Finland maintained its existence as an autonomous state with its own constitution and state style as a Tsarist in the Russian Empire. Furthermore, the Fin constitution has maintained its validity for a very long time.

Moreover, Constitutional Law, which determined the importance and balance of the powers between the government and the President, has not changed after the Second World War and the Cold War.

Provinces of Finland

Finland is divided into 6 provinces, 446 municipalities or local government administratively. Local authorities need to provide welfare services according to the law. Furthermore, the main sources of income are municipal taxes, which are collected at a standard rate of income in connection with an increasingly proportional State income tax.

Below you can find the map of Provinces of Finland.

Provinces of Finland

Southern Finland


Its largest city is Helsinki. Southern Finland has a population of 2,116,914 in total. Also, its surface area is 34,378 square kilometers.

Western Finland


Its largest city is Tampere. Western Finland has a population of 1,848,269 in total. Moreover, its surface area is 74,185 square kilometers.

Eastern Finland


Its largest city is Kuopio. Eastern Finland has a population of 582,781 in total. Also, its surface area is 48,726 square kilometers.



Its largest city is Oulu. The population of Oulu is 458,504. Furthermore, its surface area is 57,000 square kilometers.



Its largest city is Rovaniemi. Lapland’s population is 186,917. Its surface area is 98,946 square kilometers.



Its largest city is Mariehamn. Åland has a population of 26,000 in total. Moreover, its surface area is 6,784 square kilometers.