Spanish Currency / What is the Currency of Spain?

Spain’s currency is the Euro.

Spain has been using the Euro since 2002. The mark of the euro is € and the code is EUR. The currency of the country before 2002 is Spanish peseta.

The Spanish peseta is the currency used in Spain from 1869 until 2002, the international currency code ESP. The abbreviation Pts. Was written as Pta. Peseta was used in practice in Andorra, though not officially with the French franc. 1 Peseta consisted of 100 centimos. Although it is not official, it consists of 1 Peseta and 4 Real. However, these sub-units came out of use in the 1970s. Peseta derives from the word “peceta” in Catalan. The meaning of this word is a small part. The peseta was changed from 1 Euro = 166.386 peseta set in 1999.

From 1 January 2002, Spain began using the Euro. In 2002, the euro was the currency of choice in Germany, France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Ireland, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Greece, Finland and Austria. The euro is the common and monolithic part of the European Monetary Union, the last stage of the Common Market system that European countries have established to raise the welfare level.

Coins and Banknotes

Coins: 1 cent, 2 cent, 5 cent, 10 cent, 20 cent, 50 cent, €1 and €2

Banknotes: €5, €10, €20, €50, €100, €200 and €500

 Euro Converter