The Democratic Republic of Congo Flag Map and Meaning

Colors and the Meaning of the Democratic Republic of the Congo Flag

The Democratic Republic of the Congo flag is a red diagonal stripe, positioned on the light blue background, from the lower left side of the flag to the right upper section on the fluctuating side. There are two yellow color strips extending in the same way that surround this strip from the outside. There is a yellow five-pointed star in the upper left corner of the flag.

The light blue background on the flag symbolizes peace between the people of the Congo. The red stripe represents the blood of the martyrs for his country, and the yellow color surrounding the red stripe expresses the welfare of the country. The yellow five-pointed star symbolizes the unity of the country and the diagonal strip symbolizes the future.

Democratic Republic of Congo Flag Map

History of the Democratic Republic of the Congo Flag

In 1885 the King of Belgium II. Leopold chose the first official flag of the Free State of Congo. The flag had a blue background. There was a yellow five-pointed star in the middle of the flag. In 1908, when the country was Belgian Congo, the flag remained unchanged. When Congo was granted independence from Belgium in 1960, six five-pointed yellow stars were added to the left side of the flag to symbolize the six provinces of the country.

In 1960 both South Kasai and Katanga were declared unrecognized and unilaterally declared as separatist states. In South Kasai, the flag was replaced by a flag with a diagonal green ribbon, two red and white triangles and three red crosses in the white triangle. This flag lasted only a year. The flag of Katanga Province was a red-green horizontal two-lane flag with a large yellow V in the center. In 1963, Katanga became part of the Republic of Congo and the flag returned to the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

In 1963, the flag was changed to have a large yellow star in the upper left corner and a diagonal red edged red stripe symbolizing the blood and well-being of the people. The red strip was made thicker in 1966. President Mobutu changed the name of the country to Zaire in 1971 and accepted a completely different flag. The flag had a light green background and a yellow circle in the center. Inside the yellow circle there was a hand holding a flaming torch. This flag lasted until Mobutu was toppled in the first Congo war.

When the country became the Democratic Republic of the Congo again in 1997, it returned to a version of the 1960 flag with a more light blue area. In 2006, DR Congo Flag returned to the flag used between 1966 and 1971.

Neighboring Countries of the Democratic Republic of the Congo

Neighboring Countries of Democratic Republic of the Congo

It is located in Central Africa. It is surrounded by the Republic of Congo in the west, Central African Republic and Sudan in the north,, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Tanzania in the east, and Zambia and Angola in the south.

Main Characteristics of Democratic Republic of the Congo

Until recently, the capital of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, known as Zaire, was Kinshasa. Here are the most active places in the country where you can visit churches and museums. It is the fourth most populous country in Africa with its population. The official language is French. Kongoca, Lingalaca, Svahilli and Ciluba languages are used as national languages. They use the Congo franc as currency. It is forbidden to move the Congo franc from the country or to convert it into another currency.

Tropical climate prevails. A large part of the country has a warm, tropical, humid climate. It is mostly rainy. The Congo has only one national dish called Moambe. Moambe means eight and is made of eight materials. The Vitalo is among the delicious local drinks. You can also try a variety of fruit cocktails.

CountryDemocratic Republic of the Congo
CodeCD (COD)
Calling Code243
Capital CityKinshasa
Currencycongolese franc (CDF)
Emoji Symbol🇨🇩
Highest PointMargherita Peak on Mount Stanley (5,110 m)
Total Area2,344,860 km2