What is the Official Language of Switzerland?

There are four official languages in Switzerland. The first and the most common are German. German is spoken by 63 percent of the population. This is followed by French in 22 percent. In addition to French, which is usually spoken in the west of the country, Italian has an 8% share. Another official language is Romansh spoken in the canton of Graubünden in the southeast of the country. The federal government must also use four official languages. In the Federal Assembly, simultaneous translation is done in these four languages.
Swiss Street

The German dialect group spoken in Switzerland is generally called Swiss German. However, the standard High German is used in written communication and radio-television broadcasting. Similarly, the Swiss-French and Ticino dialects are used in other parts of Switzerland. In addition, official languages borrowed some terms that were not understood in other languages from Switzerland, as well as the use of similar words in other languages. Each Swiss has to learn one of the official languages of Switzerland in the school, other than their native language. Most Swiss people know at least two languages.

Swiss German

Swiss German is the name of the German dialect spoken in the German cantons of Switzerland and Liechtenstein. The language of writing is German. Swiss German and Standard Swiss German should not be confused. In Swiss German, each dialect has its own words. The Germans often have difficulty understanding the Germans. The reason is that most of the words are French and Italian. On the other hand, it is observed that attempts to create a written Swiss German have increased in recent years.


Swiss French is French known as Romandy in Switzerland. French is one of Switzerland’s four official languages, and by 2015, about 2 million people in the country speak French as their native language. The French spoken in Switzerland is very similar to that of France or Belgium and has only minor and often lexical differences.